Chelsea’s Eden Hazard and Thibaut Courtois nominated for Ballon d’Or 2014 – Belgium to win Euro 2016

Ballon D’or Nominations 2014

Chelsea’s and Belgium’s Eden Hazard and Thibaut Courtois have both been nominated for the , the most prestigious individual prize in football. The award is given each year to the football who has performed the best in the previous year, in all competitions, all over the world. The award is based on votes by coaches and captains of international teams and journalists from all over the world.

The award started in 2010 and was won by Lionel Messi in 3 consecutive years before being pipped by Cristiano Ronaldo last year following his successful run at winning the Champions League 2014.

Ballon D’or Shortlist 2014

Included in this year’s shortlist for the first time are our very own Belgium boys Hazard and Courtois. Hazard follows a fantastic year where he was named . Courtois has emerged as one of the greatest goalkeepers in the world at the tender age of 22 – winning La Liga last season with Atletico Madrid and getting off to a flying start with Chelsea this season, maintaining a top of the table position and keeping esteemed keeper Petr Cech’s butt firmly on the bench.

Below are some highlights of Courtois and Hazard from some recent performances:

Here is the full shortlist of nominees according to :

Fifa world men’s player of the year shortlist: Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid), Diego Costa (Spain, Chelsea), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium, Chelsea), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid), Angel Di Maria (Argentina, Manchester United), Mario Gotze (Germany, Bayern Munich), Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris St-Germain), Andres Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid), Philipp Lahm (Germany, Bayern Munich), Javier Mascherano (Argentina, Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Thomas Muller (Germany, Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil, Barcelona), Paul Pogba (France, Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Arjen Robben (Netherlands, Bayern Munich), James Rodriguez (Colombia, Real Madrid), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany, Bayern Munich), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast, Manchester City).

Fifa coach of the year shortlist: Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid), Antonio Conte (Juventus/Italy national team), Pep Guardiola (Bayern Munich), Jurgen Klinsmann (USA national team), Joachim Low (Germany national team), Jose Mourinho (Chelsea), Manuel Pellegrini (Manchester City), Alejandro Sabella (Argentina national team), Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid), Louis van Gaal (Netherlands national team/Manchester United).

According to the , Cristiano Ronaldo leads the votes at the moment with 28% and Lionel Messi with 25%. Luis Suarez has been excluded from the shortlist due to bad behaviour and the players nominated from the Premier League include Diego Costa, Eden Hazard, Thibaut Courtois and Yaya Toure from Manchester City.

Tags: , ,

You must be

to post a comment.

Follow Us & Support Belgium

Join over 30,000 followers on Facebook!

Featured in..

Next Fixture

22 Jun 2014




Recent Results


3 – 0

18 Jun 2016



2 – 0

04 Sep 2014



1 – 0

05 Jul 2014



2 – 1

01 Jul 2014



1 – 0

27 Jun 2014

S Korea

11:05 am

22 Jun 2016 1:55 pm

10 Jun 2016 1:50 pm

02 Jun 2016

About Us

We are a fan site for the Belgium national football team. Keep posted for news, updates, competitions and more!


Latest News

12:05 am

04 Jul 2014 10:37 am

01 Jul 2014Show Your Support

Read More Post